the network revolves around you™

HOME      PRODUCTS      DOWNLOAD      STORE      DASHBOARD        DOCUMENTS      COMMUNITY MESH

Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Okay, so I've got NR (Server) on my main system, and NR (client) on my laptop, but I don't get the windows that the site describes when I log in to the programs. I'm not gettin' it. I need some step by step help. Step 1 - how do make sure my port is set correctly on my router (this would be for the 'server' computer). My network connections shows the NeoRouter Connection, but says that a 'Network Cable is unplugged'. I'm so confused......... :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1666
Hi emilrock,

Thanks for your interests in NeoRouter.

I think you have already read our documents http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php/NeoRouterWiki:GettingStarted and the video tour http://www.neorouter.com/VideoTour.html and installed the server on your main machine.

Now, let's figure out the issue.

1. Make sure the your server is working.

Once you installed a server package on a computer, the installer installs both a server and a client applications on it and starts server service and client service automatically. So you may want to check if the services are running.

Right click on your task bar of Windows, select menu item "Task Manager". In the "Processes" tab, you can look for Image Name "ConnSrv.exe" and "CliService.exe". If you didn't find any of them, that mean they are not running properly. Then you may want to either reboot your computer or go to service management of Windows to start these NeoRouter services. From service name, you can locate them easily I think .

2. If both services are running, you can try to connect to the server.

a. Try telnet.
Click on "Start" button of Windows, select "Run..." menu item. Input:
telnet 127.0.0.1 32976
Now you can see if the server port is open. If you didn't change the server port yet, the default port is 32976.

b. Try NeoRouter Configuration Explorer.
Click on "Start" button of Windows, select "All Programs" -> "NeoRouter" -> "NeoRouter Configuration Explorer". In the log on window input:

User Name: Your NeoRouter user name
Password: the password for the user
Log on to: 127.0.0.1

Note: the user name and password is what you created when installing the server.
http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php/Image:ServerSetup3.JPG

Click on "Sign In" button. You should be able to get in.

c. Try Network Explorer with same information as you log on using Configuration Explorer, e.g. log on to 127.0.0.1 instead of your domain name yet.

If you can sign in, the server will allocate a virtual IP address to the NeoRouter Connection and you will see the 'Network Cable is plugged'. Now you can see the computer list window.

3. Make sure your server exposes the listen port to the public Internet, so that your client can connect to it from any where.

You may want to either enable the UPnP feature of you home router or do a port forward to your main computer in your home router. Check the tour video "Install Server" http://www.neorouter.com/help/NeoRouterServerInstallation/NeoRouterServerInstallation.htm see how to do a port forward setting in a D-Link router. Different router may have different settings.

Once you get this done, you can try "telnet [your public IP] 32976" see if your port is open.

If telnet works, you can start using domain name to log on to. The domain name is created when you install the server.
http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php/Image:ServerSetup2.JPG

Let us know if you have any question.

Thanks!
_________________
KevinZ
NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Kevin - Thanks so much. Everything was going great, right up to the last step. The server is not acquiring the IP address, it's just running, running, running, but no address yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1666
Hi emilrock,

Seems you have your server running and make it expose the listen port to the public Internet already. :)

Now let me explain a little bit about the NeoRouter, so that you can understand how it works.

The NeoRouter Server is running as a real server, that is responsible for NeoRouter client management, including user information, virtual IP address, P2P connection and so on. It allocates a virtual IP address (8.x.x.x) to the NeoRouter client once the client connects to it. So it is correct as you may see, that the server is just running running.

Since you installed the server package, that contains the NeoRouter client software. So, if you log on to your domain (the server) using the NeoRouter Network Explorer successfully, you should see:

1. A computer list window in the NeoRouter Network Explorer.

2. The NeoRouter Connection (the little icon on the right bottom of the task bar) will be hiden or you will see the 'Network Cable is plugged'.

3. From "Command Prompt" window, type "ipconfig" command, you will see something like this: (the ip address may be different from yours)

Ethernet adapter NeoRouter Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.0.0.9
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 8.0.0.9


4. You can run NeoRouter Configuration Explorer, go to the "Computers" tab. Now you can see your computer is listed there with the virtual IP address.

So the NeoRouter client, but the NeoRouter server, will be assigned a IP address. In your case, it should work like this:


Main Computer .................................... Laptop
Install NeoRouter Server .......................... Install NeoRouter Client
Server Running ..................................... No server
Client running and get IP (8.x.x.A) .............. Client running and get IP (8.x.x.B)

Then you can access the main computer from your laptop.

Let us know if you have any problem.

Thanks!
_________________
KevinZ
NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Kevin - I think we're almost there. Thank you again. Everything on your last reply has worked as described. However, number 3 on your first reply is not working yet (or, I haven't been able to get my head around it and accomplish it). Here is what you posted -

3. Make sure your server exposes the listen port to the public Internet, so that your client can connect to it from any where. I don't understand how to accomplish this.

You may want to either enable the UPnP feature of you home router or do a port forward to your main computer in your home router. Check the tour video "Install Server" http://www.neorouter.com/help/NeoRouter ... lation.htm see how to do a port forward setting in a D-Link router. Different router may have different settings.

Once you get this done, you can try "telnet [your public IP] 32976" see if your port is open.*I don't understand this either. What am I trying (where do I enter this information? Command prompt, viewer?) and from where? The client computer or the server?

If telnet works, you can start using domain name to log on to. The domain name is created when you install the server. When do I start using my domain rather than than the 127.*.*.*.0?
http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... Setup2.JPG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1666
Hi emilrock,

You are right, it's very close now. :)

Let me assume your network looks like this:

The Internet (ISP) <----> your home router(NAT) <-----> your computers

Generally your home router will be assigned a public IP address by your ISP and it creats a private network for your computers. So your home router may have a public IP (for example: 209.111.222.333) and your main computer may have a private IP (for example: 192.168.1.100). By default, your computers can access Internet, but the computers outside cannot access your computers behind NAT.

See here for more information about NAT:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_Address_Translation

To make NeoRouter Server work, you need to expose port 32976 to the Internet, so that NeoRouter clients can access your main computer behind NAT at port 32976, e.g.

NeoRoute Client A <----> Internet <-----> your home router <-----> your main computer (running NeoRouter Server)

You can use one of the following methods to achieve this.

1. Port Forwarding (recommended):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_forwarding

2. UPnP:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Plug_and_Play
NeoRouter supports UPnP. Once your home router has the UPnP feature enabled, NeoRouter will work properly.

Now, let's work on it:

1. If you like Port Forwarding, you can refer to this website:
http://www.wikihow.com/Set-up-Port-Forwarding-on-a-Router

2. If you like UPnP, you can refer to this website:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/windowsmessenger/expert/linksysBEFSR41.mspx

There would be a little bit difference from your home router. Let us know your home router brand and model if you still have problem.

Once you setup Port Forwarding, you can test it from any of your computer.
1. Find out your public IP address assigned by ISP
Open an IE broswer and go to this website:
http://showip.net/
Now you can see your public IP address showing on the top of the webpage. For example: 209.111.222.333

2. Open a "Command Prompt" window, type in:
telnet 209.111.222.333 32976
You may want to replace the IP address with your public IP address get from last step.

Now, you can see if the telnet connects to your NeoRouter server. If it does, you can run the NeoRouter Network Explorer with your username, password and domain name from any of your computer.

Let us know if you have any problem.

Good luck!
_________________
KevinZ
NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Okay, I think I got one of the issues figured out. I opened a command prompt window, changed to c:< and then typed "telnet (my public ip address I acquired from showip.net) 32976 and got a window with 'BusyBox' asking for a log in. Is this correct?

I also set up UPnP on my Linksys Router (I am fairly confident I did it correctly).

However, after installing the client on my laptop computer, I can't get into the desktop after entering my user name (which I set up in configuration on the desktop), and entering the same public ip address.

I think we are close.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help....I'm so lost!
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1666
Hi emilrock,

It looks like you didn't setup port forwarding properly yet. "BusyBox" is an shell application used by Linksys router. If you did port forwarding successfully, it should connect though the router to your main computer, on which NeoRouter server is running and listening at port 32976. When you type the telnet command, you should see a black screen window (command prompt window) with cursor blinking. When you type something, it closes and quit from telnet.

If you do enabled UPnP, you can run NeoRouter client and input your NeoRouter account user name, password and the public IP to log in. (Note: when you sign in to your windows desktop, you may want to use your Windows account information)

Let us know if you have any problem.

Thanks!
_________________
KevinZ
NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: