Community

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Multiple VPNs?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:02 pm 

This seems obvious, but I haven't seen it asked or answered here.

Is it possible for the client to join several NR VPNs at once? For example, if I'm on site, I'd like to access resources on my company's LAN and also my desktop computer at home.

It's not necessary--or even desirable--to bridge the two locations, but my client should be able to see resources on both without a lot of relogging.

Another use: as a consultant, I have several clients who need quick answers at irregular frequencies. I'd like to maintain (latent) connections to those clients--again, with no bridging--so I can easily hop on their LANs upon request.

Since Hamachi2 does not support Mac, I'm looking for a new cross-platform solution and am quite pleased in what I'm seeing with NR. The product is coming along quite nicely.

--George

Post subject: Re: Multiple VPNs?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:24 am 

Hi George,

Thanks for using NeoRouter.
NR client cannot join multiple virtual networks at the same time. But you can consider the following solutions:
1. you can launch multiple instances of the NR Viewer client on the same computer, each log into a different virtual domain.
2. you can add computers from both locations to the same virtual domain and use ACL to control the connections between them.

In future release we may provide a way for users to define sub-domains. Then you will be able to connect all computers to the same virtual domain while keeping the two locations separate.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:15 pm 

Luke:

I get the gist of what you're saying, but I'm still a bit confused. By "NR viewer client" do you mean the NeoRouter Network Explorer? I'm running an instance of Windows 7 and I can't seem to get more than one NR Network Explorer window.