Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 am
Posts: 7
Hi,

First, let me to thank you for the great product!

Was using hamachi for a 3-4 yeras before, now trying to neoroute and got some problems.

1. The neoroute net is up (all hosts pinging each other OK) with 3 PC WinXP Pro (2PC on WAN, 1PC on LAN) + 1 PC Vista HP on LAN. Neoroute server is on the WinXP Pro Lan with properly forwarded ports on hardware router (Dashboard test is green OK).

Getting problem to connect with Microsoft Remote desktop client (RDC) to PC with NeoRouter server from both LAN and WAN PCs using NeoRouter installation. Using NeoRouter portable remote desktop connection is OK but unstable (another problem, will discuss later).

Problem details: RDC connecting to remote PC, windows logon screen appearing, after entering username and password screen goes black and stays for about a minute, then RDC desconnecting. Sometimes after entering username and password remote PC's desktop starting to appear but then again freezes and RDC disconnecting in about a minute.

Pinging during RDC connection shows host ping delays and request timed out in the moment of login to remote PC. After RDC disconnecting, pinging goes OK again:

Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=128
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=3325ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=128

Access to the network shares of remote PC (including shares requiring login) is OK.

The overall network perfomance is OK, just in line with hamachi:

Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=62
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=62
Ping statistics for 10.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 19677, Received = 19573, Lost = 104 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 202ms, Average = 10ms

Disabling of RDC bitmap caching did not helps.


2. Regarding network stability using RDC. Often minimizing RDC and trying to reuse it after some time (>10 min.) is impossible. RDC loosing connection and try to reconnect, but succeed very rarely. Mostly you need to close RDC and even reconnect to neorouter network (restart remote client if using portable) to reconnect with RDC to remote PC again.

Any suggestions/clarification on these cases?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi tkp,

Thanks for trying NeoRouter.

For question 1:
Can you try this:
a. Log off all users from your remote computer or restart it without any one log on
b. RDC to it over NR network

After the steps above (at least once), you should be able to RDC to it over NR without problem.

If you still come cross the problem again or it does not work, please let us know. Then please change the "client-to-client" connection type to the "Relay mode" on your remote computer, which should always be working.

For question 2:
We will investigate it.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 am
Posts: 7
Hi kevinz,

Thank you for quick reply.

Q1:

I have loged off all users without restarting PC and YES, now RDC connection is OK! Ping goes without interruptions! Magic! :) Thank you!

That is it? How to fix this?

I can't log off constantly that PC because there are a number of apps running under the user account.

No such problems with RDC connection over LAN directly (not through neorouter net).

Q2:

Testing this now. With new connection style ;) RDC connection window after being minimized for a very short time frame (<1 min) recover remote desktop view instantly. For a little longer time frame (<5 min) a small delay with black screen appears, but after a few seconds everything is OK.

Will test for a longer RDC minimized window time frame. Problem form Q2 could be connected to the problem from Q1 or with usage of portable neorouter client.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
hi tkp,

Q1: Now, you don't need to log off every time, as you have used the "magic". It will still be working, even someone have logged on the Windows on your remote computer.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 am
Posts: 7
Hi kevinz,

Thank you! Just for curiosity... was it some kind of initialization for neorouter server? Will it reappear after PC reboot, or after neorouter/OS reinstall, or other user logon?

Q2:

RDC is still OK. Probably this problem is up to portable client with some kind of "keep alive connection".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
It won't bother you again even you reboot it. It's something related to the RDP (terminal service), but we are still investigating it and trying to void it.
It does not happen on all computers, just in some cases.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 am
Posts: 7
To simplify spec:
PC1 WinXP Pro, LAN, workgroup, neorouter server installation
PC2 WinVista HP, LAN, workgroup, neorouter explorer installation
PC3 WinXP Pro, WAN, domain, neorouter explorer installation

Just now at home discovered that the same problem is with accessing my office PC3 from PC1.

So, as I understand the flow, for RDC to operate properly after neorouter installed on remote PC you need at least once connect to it with RDC then it is booted but no single user is logged on. ...Seems not, see edits below...

EDIT1:
Strange, my another PC2 just now connected with RDC to office PC3 without problems!

I have loged off user from office PC3 and still can't connect to it with RDC from PC1.

EDIT2:
Office PC3 complete reboot didn't helped too.

Problem to access with RDC PC3 from PC1.

The same time no problems to access with RDC PC3 from PC2.

EDIT3:
After a few hours the problem occurred even with access with RDC PC3 from PC2. So it seems problem can reoccur even without logging off or rebooting.

To summarize:
PC1->PC2 not tested
PC1->PC3 problem
PC2->PC1 OK
PC2->PC3 was OK, but no problem
PC3->PC1 OK
PC3->PC2 not tested

EDIT4:
Magic again. Logged off the office PC3 from console (not remotely) and now no problem to connect with RDC from PC1 and PC2. ;)

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi All,

This issue has just been fixed and will be included in the next release.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 am
Posts: 7
Have updated to the new Neorouter 0.9.11.1700 release last week.

No problems with client PC2 and PC3.

But with PC1 with NR server had some. During installing new version was asked first to remove previous version. Did this with saving configuration files. Then, without rebooting PC1, continued the new version installation. Finally was not asked to reboot, but did this. Then... problems.

1. After reboot without login in to windows NR server doesn't starts.
2. After login in to windows NR server start normally, NR network is operating OK, but again same problems with connection to PC1 from clients using RDC: after login in to remote windows screen goes blank and after a while RDC disconnects.

Doing log off from PC1 windows and connecting to it from clients doesn't helped. Only after rebooting and login in to windows PC1 from clients to RDC first solved problem 2. So logging off the windows does not solves this problem always.

But problem 1 was still there. Today after accidentally power down PC1 was started not by rebooting, but by turning on after was turned off completely. Now NR server started normally before login in to windows and RDC connection is OK.

So. No problems at the moment. Just for your info. Will see how it goes further. ;)

Thank you for great product!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote desktop problem
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:18 am
Posts: 7
And again strange issues with RDC connection - RDC connects, shows windows login screen, after login done screen goes blank and after 10-30 sec. RDC disconnects.

As described earlier in my specification now with RDC:
PC1 can't connect to PC3
and the same time
PC2 connection OK to PC3

Other services on NR network works just OK. Both PC1 and PC2 are in the same subnet, behind the same hardware router. The only difference I see is PCs OS and PC1 running NR server installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: