Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: nrclient grabbing existing hostname on server
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:41 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

I've been running into an issue installing the NRClient on raspberry pi's. I will install one with a username of user1 / password1 and the raspberry pi will have a hostname of unit1. I will go to create unit 2, with user2 / password2 and the second unit will grab the hostname of unit1 on the neo router server. Once this happens, I have to setup unit 1 again, with a different hostname.

Has anyone else seen this?

Regards,
Mr. The Plague


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: nrclient grabbing existing hostname on server
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi MrThePlague,

NR server uses MAC address of the primary network adapter to identify a device. The MAC info and related ID info are cached in the main config folder once a device successfully registered to the NR server.

So if your devices have the same MAC, NR server see them the same machine. If you move the SD card from one to another, please delete the config folder and re-register the device. Also the computer name is retrieved from the device. If your devices have the same host name, the computer name would be same; but you can specify an alias name for each device.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: