Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Changing IP to met server program requirements on NR free li
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:49 am
Posts: 1
Hi everybody,

I am trying to change ip address so that it can match a program requirement.

I have 2 PC with windows XP Pro, lets call them

PC server
PC client

The PC server has IP 192.168.200.233 on the main network adapter with subnet 255.255.255.0

There is server program that runs on that PC server and in its configuration settings uses that IP.

There are another 4 LAN cards on th PC server, connected to other devices using the same ip range (the server software on PC Servr manages that devices via LAN).

If I use the default IP address of NR i get on teh two PC the following
10.0.0.2
10.0.0.3

I can ping and browse folders in both PC.

The problem is that when I run the client program from PC Client, it looks for 192.168.200.233 (the program server) and doesn't find it and i get error.

I tryied to change on the program server setting its ip to 10.0.0.3 (same as NR IP ) and in this case i can connect from the PC Client with client program to the server program on the PC server.

The problem is that then all the other devices attached on server LAN cards having the IP 192.168.200.xxx are not reachable by the server program (that now has 10.0.0.3 IP)


What I did is open NR Explorer and change the DHCP setting on NR's server.
from:
10.0.0.0
255.0.0.0


to

192.168.200.180
255.255.2550.0

to met the charateristic of the server program requirement and the network devices connected.

I restarted the linux server where NR is hosted.

I got new IP now:

192.168.200.182
192.168.200.183

with subnet 255.255.255.0

same segment configuration of the real network card on PC server where the server program is running.

But at this point the problem.

I can't ping anymore PC server from PC client using that IPs.

I see them both online from my NR GUI.

Why I can't use that configuration?

Shell I bridge the 2 newtwork cards? (NR and phisical Card) ?

Why is not working with this IP configuration?

Any Idea?

David


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing IP to met server program requirements on NR free li
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1864
Hi maestro7676,

Thanks for your post.

I'd like to clarify the NeoRouter usage a little bit. 1) NeoRouter v2 doesn't support site-to-site or point-to-site feature, so each device/computer must have a NR client installed, so that they can build a virtual LAN cross networks/Internet. Then those devices/computers in the NR VLAN can access each other using the virtual IP address. 2) NR virtual IP address range (DHCP) should not overlap with physical networks, otherwise it may cause problem, such as connecting to a different machine using the same IP address.

So in your case, please change the NR DHCP to 10.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 or other IP range that is different from the physical IP 192.168.200.0/255.255.255.0. Then access to the target machine using virtual IP 10.0.0.2/3 and so on.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing IP to met server program requirements on NR free li
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:26 pm
Posts: 31
maestro7676 wrote:

There are another 4 LAN cards on th PC server, connected to other devices using the same ip range (the server software on PC Servr manages that devices via LAN).

The problem is that then all the other devices attached on server LAN cards having the IP 192.168.200.xxx are not reachable by the server program (that now has 10.0.0.3 IP)


This sounds like incorrect network setup. You probably are mistaken about this, or this needs to be fixed as its just wrong.

When you have multiple network cards, you need to have each network card on a different subnet, so when the OS needs to send a packet, it knows WHICH card to use. If they are all on the same subnet, could be random, could think there is a loop, its *dunno, this is bad and shouldn't be done* etc.

So on each of your neorouter clients, your network interfaces should have one for your internet connection subnet, AS WELL as a neorouter interface ON A DIFFERENT SUBNET. You MUST have the neorouter IP PLUS an additional IP (the path to your internet connection) for any of this VPN stuff to work.

Put Neorouter DHCP range back to 10.0.0.x and the local LAN back to 192.168.200.x.

For the local clients that are physically connected to the PC server, they will talk to the PC server using the 192.168.200.x IP. Any/all neorouter computers can talk to the PC server using the neorouter assigned 10.x.x.x IP. For any computer that is both on the same 192.168.200.x and neorouter 10.x.x.x lan SHOULD be able to ping each other over either interface. If not, your computers are the issue, not neorouter. You'll need to provide all the IP's and interfaces (including routes) to figure this out.

Here's my setup:

Windows 10 PC (connected to switch):
local network connected to my router/internet connection: 192.168.2.20 (physical card)
local network connected to my 10G network: 192.168.222.20 (physical card)
neorouter virtual interface: 192.168.236.20

Windows XP PC (connected to switch):
local network connected to my router/internet connection: 192.168.2.30 (physical card)
neorouter virtual interface: 192.168.236.30

Work PC (in a different location):
local network connected to its router/internet connection: 192.168.0.40 (physical card)
neorouter virtual interface: 192.168.236.40

From either PC, they can ping each other. 192.168.2.20 pings 192.168.2.30 and vice versa, and 192.168.236.20 pings 192.168.236.30 and vice versa. Either the win10 or XP can ping my work PC at 192.168.236.40, but not 192.168.0.40. That will be 'destination unreachable'.

You cannot ping 192.168.200.x IP from a 10.x.x.x IP and vice versa (remember, both computers should have at least two different IP subnets, they don't replace each other).

When they ping each other over the physical 192.168.2.x interface, the pings are ALWAYS 1ms. When I ping them over the 192.168.236.x interface, the first 8-10 pings are kinda high (depending on server location and internet speed), but then as the p2p figures out they are on same lan, then pings go to 1ms.

Pinging 192.168.236.2 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time=141ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time=67ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time=176ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.236.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

But it might all just sort itself when you fix the 4 network cards on the same subnet. That's red alarm bells wrong. Neorouter likely isn't the issue, here, your network design is. Packets are getting dropped on the PC server for having messed up routing.

So to recap:
1) fix the 4 network cards on same subnet, that's wrong. Or its described incorrectly (ie, they are actually on different subnets).
2) Set neorouter DHCP range back to 10.x.x.x
3) Local, physical computers NOT using neorouter uses the 192.168.200.x IP for the PC server
4) the non-local, neorouter clients uses the 10.0.0.x IP for the PC server

The application on the PC server shouldn't need to change (unless you have to specify an IP to bind to, in which you have a showstopper problem right there and will need a different solution). You just need to change the new neorouter clients to use the 10.0.0.x IP.

If none of this makes sense to you, to further help you, you need to run "ipconfig /all" and "route print" on both your windows PCs. It sounds like your neorouter server is linux, but I don't think we need that info. (The linux box would be "ifconfig" and "route -n", and would be helpful but probably not needed).

You may also need to expand on the limitations of setting an IP in the PC servers application and in the PC clients application.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing IP to met server program requirements on NR free li
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:35 am
Posts: 1
NeoRouter v2 doesn't support site-to-site or point-to-site feature. Each device must have a NR client installed.

_________________
192.168.0.1 router login, JSON formatter online


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: