Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:01 pm
Posts: 16
Hi, here is the problem i got, i have 2 separate network,
my home network that is 10.1.0.XXX
and a remote network that is 10.10.0.XXX.

The router on the home network got this adress: 10.1.0.1
The Neorouter client on my home network as this eth0 ip: 10.1.0.104
and the nrtap IP is: 10.0.0.9

The router on the remote network got this adress: 10.10.0.1
The Neorouter client on the remote network as this eth0 ip: 10.10.0.10
and the nrtap IP is: 10.0.0.6

Both Neorouter clients are on CentOS5 and both router are using Tomato 1.27.

I have set this route in my home router:
Destination: 10.10.0.0
Gateway: 10.1.0.104
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Interface: LAN

And this one on my remote router:
Destination: 10.1.0.0
Gateway: 10.1.0.10
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Interface: LAN

On both neorouter client, i have enable the ip_forwarding in the /etc/sysctl.conf
Code:
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1

and done a sysctl -p

after that, i have sent those command in the home neorouter client:
Code:
route add -net 10.10.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 10.0.0.6


and this one in the remote neorouter client:
Code:
route add -net 10.1.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 10.0.0.9


But can't ping from the home to remote, when i do a tracert on my windows machine, it trace the route to the router and to the Neorouter home client, but that is. Is there something wrong with what i have done ?? thanx!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1878
Hi Speedy2k,

You setting to the OS looks fine. But did you setup the Feature.ini to enable the network bridge feature of NR client?

For the details, check out:
http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... ork_bridge

In your case, you may want to create a Feature.ini file in the main config folder of each NR client computer. As you are using CentOS, the main config folder is:
Code:
/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter


The content of the file would like this:

Code:
[Default]
NetworkBridge=1
LANSegment1=10.1.0.0/255.255.255.0,10.0.0.9
LANSegment2=10.10.0.0/255.255.255.0,10.0.0.6

Quote:
Explanation:
NetworkBridge=1 Enable the bridge feature
LANSegment1 tells NR client all packets to 10.1.0.0 go through 10.0.0.9
LANSegment2 tells NR client all packets to 10.10.0.0 go through 10.0.0.6

Then restart your nrservice on each NR client.

Let us know if you still have problem.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:01 pm
Posts: 16
Ok i have done what you have said, does i have to enable this on the server too ?? Because right now i'm only able to ping the remote gateway, like from my Home client i can ping my remote client but not the remote router. Here is the sysctl -p output:
Code:
sysctl -p
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
net.ipv4.conf.default.rp_filter = 1
net.ipv4.conf.default.accept_source_route = 0
kernel.sysrq = 0
kernel.core_uses_pid = 1
net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies = 1
kernel.msgmnb = 65536
kernel.msgmax = 65536
kernel.shmmax = 4294967295
kernel.shmall = 268435456


On both client.
and here is the routing on the remote client, please note that i have change the VPN ip just to make shure i d'ont have conflicting IP.

Code:
route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth1
10.10.0.0       *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
10.10.1.0       172.30.0.8      255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 nrtap
10.1.0.0        172.30.0.9      255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 nrtap
172.30.0.0      *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 nrtap
169.254.0.0     *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 eth1
5.0.0.0         *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 ham0
default         router.lan      0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0


Here is the remote router routing:
Code:
route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
XX.XX.XXX.XX    *               255.255.255.252 U     0      0        0 vlan1
10.10.0.0       *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 br0
10.10.1.0       pbx.lan         255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 br0
10.1.0.0        pbx.lan         255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 br0
127.0.0.0       *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         modemcable065.2 0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 vlan1


And here is the home client routing:
Code:
route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
10.10.0.0       172.30.0.6      255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 nrtap
10.10.1.0       172.30.0.8      255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 nrtap
10.1.0.0        *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
172.30.0.0      *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 nrtap
169.254.0.0     *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 eth0
default         router.lan      0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0


and here is the home router routing:
Code:
route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
XX.XX.XXX.X     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 vlan1
10.10.0.0       pbx.lan         255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 br0
10.10.1.0       pbx.lan         255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 br0
10.1.0.0        *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 br0
127.0.0.0       *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         modemcable001.2 0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 vlan1



Is there anything else to do ?? like i said, from the neorouter client i can ping the internal ip of the remote box but not in the network ??
thanx!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1878
Hi Speedy2k,

I reviewed your first post, seems the route command has problem (my fault, I didn't notice it before).

Quote:
A typo: route add -net 10.10.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 10.0.0.6


Since you use the routing method to implement the site-to-site VPN, you have to:

1. on each PCs (not NR Client) in the LAN, need to add route, so that packets can be routed to the gw, e.g. NRClient.
2. if you don't want to setup each PC, you can add route in your router (you are using tomato, good), from there , router packets to NRClient. It means, all your PCs in a LAN having default gw to your router pass packets to the router first, then the router route them to the NRClient, which will pass to the remote.

Here is an example add route on each pc.

Check out http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... idge_2.png for more details.

Check out http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... o_site_VPN (the Option 2) for how to set route on routers.


Code:
Home:
Router:      10.1.0.1
NRClient(gw):10.1.0.104, 10.0.0.9
Destination: 10.10.0.0/255.255.255.0

on each PC in the LAN, add:
router -p add 10.10.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 10.1.0.104


Remote:
Router:      10.10.0.1
NRClient(gw):10.10.0.10, 10.0.0.6
Destination: 10.1.0.0/255.255.255.0

on each PC in the LAN, add:
router -p add 10.1.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 10.10.0.10



Let us know if you still have problem.

Thanks,
kevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:01 pm
Posts: 16
Like you see in my last post, the routing is already done on each Neorouter Gateway and the router to, like i said, i can ping from my home neorouter gateway to the lan IP of the remote gateway, but not past that, i don't know why. all the routing is done in the router and in the neorouter gateway, i don't understand what is happening. is there any way to make sure the Feature.ini file is applied ?? thanx!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1878
ping between gateways (NR Clients) just means NR network is setup properly. You may want to try:

1. ping from 10.1.0.1 to 10.10.0.10
2. ping from 10.1.0.1 to 10.10.0.1
3. ping from 10.1.0.x to 10.10.0.x

Can you also make sure the router and Linux firewall are setup properly when testing?

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:01 pm
Posts: 16
On the tomato Routers, the firewall is always active, does i have to add an iptables entry for it to accept the request to another subnet ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1878
Tomato does support "router" mode, but default is gateway mode. I think there should be settings to it so that it can router packets between two subnets.

I suggest you test the "Option 1" first, e.g. manually add static route to a computer 10.1.0.x and a computer 10.10.0.x. If they can ping each other, it means NR Network Bridge feature is working properly. Then you may spend want to some time to figure our the "Option 2", e.g. using the router. For NR, there is no difference between Option 1 and 2.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:01 pm
Posts: 16
Ok it's a good idea, but what is strange, is when i make a tracert on my computer that is on my local lan, to the 10.10.0.10 that is the neorouter gateway on the remote la, here is what i got:
Code:
tracert 10.10.0.10

Détermination de l'itinéraire vers 10.10.0.10 avec un maximum de 30 sauts.

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router.lan [10.1.0.1]
  2     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  pbx.lan [10.1.0.104]
  3     *        *        *     Délai d'attente de la demande dépassé.


So it seems then the Tomato router is routing the demand to the pbx.lan that is my neorouter gateway.

But doesn't go anywhere, but when i do a traceroute on the local gateway to the remote gateway, here is what i got:
Code:
traceroute 10.10.0.10
traceroute to 10.10.0.10 (10.10.0.10), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1  10.10.0.10 (10.10.0.10)  15.233 ms  21.730 ms  21.771 ms


It goes straight, but when i do a traceroute from the local neorouter gateway to the remote Tomato, here is what i got:
Code:
traceroute 10.10.0.1
traceroute to 10.10.0.1 (10.10.0.1), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1  172.30.0.6 (172.30.0.6)  17.811 ms  18.593 ms  18.772 ms
2  * * *


I think it is in the gateway the problem, like if the Feature.ini file wasn't working, does it need special permission? is it really spelled Feature.ini and not feature.ini ?? who must be the owner of this file ?? thanx a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Site to Site routed VPN Question!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1878
From your description (traceroute 10.10.0.10 successfully), it looks like the Network Bridge mode is enabled already. Or 10.10.0.x packets cannot be passed over NR network. If you remove the Feature.ini file, your traceroute will get time out, as NR accepts virtual IP (10.0.0.x) packages ONLY by default.

So the problem should be in the 10.1.0.104 . Why 10.10.0.x packets do not go nrtap (10.0.0.9) ? Can you list the route table on 10.1.0.104?

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: