Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 7
I get this error message whenever I attempt to run the application:
The application NeoRouter Free(process.com.neorouter.android) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.

I then have to select the Force Close button.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1873
Hi darwin,

Thanks for your report. Did you try the latest version (v1.1.2.2147) we've just updated yesterday? If not, please uninstall the old one and try the new build.

Let us know if it's the latest and we will investigate the issue and get back to you soon. Can you provide the Android version of your Motorola Droid2 ? It would be helpful.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks for following up.

I have the latest version of your software loaded on my Droid2. I downloaded it from the Android Marketplace on Sunday, 8/29. I assume that I think you announced your new version on Saturday, 8/28.

I am running version 2.2 of Android on the phone. The carrier specific version number is 2.2.20.A995.Verizon.en.us

Please let me know if there is additional information you need from me.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1873
Hi darwin,

Thanks for your information. So if I understand correctly, your Droid 2 comes with the default Android 2.2 OS and NeoRouter throws exception when you click on the icon to start it. (Please correct me, if I was wrong).

We haven't be able to reproduce your issue yet, but we will investigate and get back to you soon.

If any other user has the similar issue, please let us know.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 7
Hi Kevin,

Yes, I am running Android 2.2 which came with the Droid2.

Ok. I tried logging in 3 times just now and got the error message the first two times. The Third time I got connected to the server just fine from the Droid. I don't think I did anything different the third time so this may be a Droid2 or OS glitch or a BUD error (ie. Bad User on Device).

I guess we can consider this closed. I'll let you know if I encounter anything else. I have used a variety of remote access tools over the years and this is my first opportunity to try NeoRouter. My first impressions are good even with this minor hang up.

Thanks,
Darwin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 7
Hi Kevin,

Update. I have only been able to get NeoRouter to work once on the Droid2. I get the following on the screen:
! Sorry!
The application NeRouter Free (process com.neorouter.android) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.
Force Close Report

I think I rule out BUD errors. I hope that you can discover what is going on here. Let me know if you would like me to test anything or if you need other information.

Thanks,
Darwin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1873
Hi darwin,

Thanks for your update. Wonder if you can help us to test it as below:

Can you install a taskkill program, use it to kill all running programs, including NR, then launch again, see if that fixes the issue. It's possible an older instance hang and failed to quit?

Does the force close happens immediately or after 5seconds? This would give us a clue whether its a hang or exception.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 7
I ran advanced task killer but it still failed when I selected the signin button. So, I turned off the phone and turned it back on. I ran advanced task killer to shut down everything that starts up when the phone is turned on. Then I was able to connect to the server.

Must be some conflicting application or a memory management problem. I'll see if I can get any useful remote sessions working now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi Darwin,

We can reproduce the issue in our lab now. The FC happens when Android aggressively destroys background activities. We should have a fix for it soon.
At the meantime, users can work around this issue by freeing up more memory.

Thanks,

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cannot get NeoRouter to run on my Motorola Droid 2
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 7
Great! I look forward to the update.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron