Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NeoRouter Adapter Using Incorrect IP address - URGENT!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 5
Hello! I am trying to setup NeoRouter and have a NeoRouter Server setup on a linux VPS in Germany. Then I downloaded the client to my computer and connected fine to both the Explorer and Configuration. But I could not ping any clients and no other clients could ping me either. I traced this down by opening an elevated command prompt and typed ipconfig /all and this showed NeoRouter was using an IP which was not as it was meant to be...

(* means a hidden digit)

Ethernet adapter NeoRouter Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NeoRouter Virtual Network Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : **-**-**-**-**-**
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7931:a202:2367:70e%23(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.7.14(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


The IP is listed as 169.254.7.14 and any IP within the 169.*.*.* range is an invalid address. So I set it manually to use 10.0.0.2 as the IP on that adapter and it started working again until I restarted my computer and all the IP configuration I had set has cleared itself so now I see http://i.imgur.com/8Zy5lLV.png which basically all the Use the following IP address box has been cleared. Why is this and why was it using an invalid IP in the first place?

Also, What do I do next? Thanks! ~Edan. (If you need me to attach a log, please tell me where I can find it)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Adapter Using Incorrect IP address - URGENT!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi edan11,

Looks like the NR virtual IP didn't get assigned to the NR adapter. Please try to run a netsh.exe command in a CMD prompt window see if you have the command installed properly on your Windows. If any problem with it, please try to solve it first.

If the netsh command works well, please get a log file of nrservice.exe and send it to us so that we can help to investigate it.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Adapter Using Incorrect IP address - URGENT!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 5
kevinz wrote:
Hi edan11,

Looks like the NR virtual IP didn't get assigned to the NR adapter. Please try to run a netsh.exe command in a CMD prompt window see if you have the command installed properly on your Windows. If any problem with it, please try to solve it first.

If the netsh command works well, please get a log file of nrservice.exe and send it to us so that we can help to investigate it.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team

NetSH works fine:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Edan>NETSH
netsh>

but where is the log file?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Adapter Using Incorrect IP address - URGENT!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 5
Sorry, I don't mean to be rude but this has not answered my question at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Adapter Using Incorrect IP address - URGENT!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi edan11,

Please follow the guide below to get the log file of the nrservice.exe and send it to support (at) neorouter (dot) com, so that we can help you to investigate it.

http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... og_file.3F

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Adapter Using Incorrect IP address - URGENT!!!
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:03 am
Posts: 5
kevinz wrote:
Hi edan11,

Please follow the guide below to get the log file of the nrservice.exe and send it to support (at) neorouter (dot) com, so that we can help you to investigate it.

http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... og_file.3F

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Hey! I have sent the log via e-mail. Please look into it ASAP as I want to get my company using NeoRouter because it easily beats LogMeIn's Hamachi and is much more stable aswell... apart from this one-off blip.

Thanks,
Edan.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron