Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 3:04 pm
Posts: 6
When attempting to access computers via the VNC, SSH-Telnet or FTP/SFTP clients, I receive this message:

"NeoRouter Remote Access Client"

"Server has disconnected from the addon."
"Error: -2138971903"

"OK"

The above appears without quotation marks.

Same results from Mac OS X (mountain lion) on Chrome (27.x) and on ChromeBook (27.x)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi JeffAtET,

This error code indicates that the ssh client gets disconnected from a sshd server.

Can you make sure the sshd server is running and the firewall does not block the connection on the target machine? If you use NR Pro, please also check the NR ACL/firewall rules on that machine.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi JeffAtET,

There is a known issue related to web client and ACL (in NR Pro v.2.0.0.4060), not sure if it affects you.

The web client may not update peer's permission properly when user signed in successfully, the peer computer is still running under "Default User" instead of the current user. In this case, if the default user set permission to "Block All", it basically blocks all connections from web client.

The workaround is to enable the proper services (use firewall on and enable rdp/vnc/ssh and so on) for the "Default User" on the target machine.

We will include the issue in the next release.

Let us know if you have any question.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:11 pm
Posts: 8
kevinz wrote:
The workaround is to enable the proper services (use firewall on and enable rdp/vnc/ssh and so on) for the "Default User" on the target machine.


I've just run into this too. Same error and error number. SSH doesn't even get to the auth.log of the Linux client on the other side. How exactly do I enable ssh for the "Default User" on the target, given that the target is command-line-only, no GUI?

(To be sure, sshd is running and working for the user if accessed directly.)

Also, our real test target will be RDP to a Windows machine. I expect this may fall to the same error for the HTML5 client? If so, full instructions for that would help too.

Off topic here I think, but so far I've learned that the Linux client needs to register by IP rather than domain to a Linux server - it doesn't magically pick up the domain that's been assigned there. The instructions might reflect that, or fully describe how to get the named domain thing to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:11 pm
Posts: 8
To clarify, this is using the Chrome plugin. (Isn't that also HTML5?) It fails at both RDP and VNC to a Windows VM. With RDP it immediately displays an "RDP Disconnected" message. With VNC it not only throws an numeric error message, but disconnects the NeoRouter client on the Windows VM.

Over OpenVPN, meanwhile, both rdesktop and vnc work fine. But we're looking for a solution where the Chrome plugin will work, that doesn't require an OpenVPN client. It would be really nice to get this to work.

Update: From NeoRouter Explorer on the Windows VM I can use Putty to reach two Linux systems. It's from Chrome on Linux that I can't reach RDP or VNC on the Windows box. Since our real desire is to get access from Chromebooks - which would be Chrome on Chrome OS (i.e. Gentoo Linux) - this is a blocker.

This is running the latest trial version of the pro server.

Update: Exactly the same problems when using the latest HTML5 webapp version. Also, I've checked that the default user (as well as the user being used) have no firewall set in nr.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 7:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi whit,

The bug had been fixed in the latest release v2.0.0.4126.

There are several steps you may want to check:

1. Make sure upgrade your NR server to the latest version v2.0.0.4126, that fixed the bugs related to the NR Remote Access Client (web client/chrome ext)
See the release notes here
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5248

2. Run the Chrome Ext or the NR Web Client link, sign in to your NR server just like using the standard NR client. If you can sign in and see the computer list, fine.

3. Check the ACL settings for the current user (Since you can access sshd from other standard client, it should be ok)

4. Try the ssh addon again. Click on the addon button, fill out the target user name and password, then go.

Let us know if you still have problem.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:11 pm
Posts: 8
kevinz wrote:
The bug had been fixed in the latest release v2.0.0.4126.

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for the response. The server we're running is nrserver-2.0.0.4126-pro-ubuntu-amd64.deb. Is it possible this was compiled without the bug fix included?

Stuff works when using NR Network Explorer with this server. It's just your Web clients - both Chrome and HTML5 - that fail to provide RDP or VNC sessions to a Windows 2008 instance which by other means works fine for both.

We can't use the Web clients to connect to SSH on Linux either, despite that Network Explorer works. We get "Server has disconnected from the addon. Error: -2138971903" for that, immediately, and no record in the auth.log of the Linux systems of any SSH login even being attempted.

The browser-based access is our target use. If that can work dependably, we'll buy the license. We definitely want to use Linux for the server. Should we try the Red Hat server variant (on CentOS)?

Thanks,
Whit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi whit,

Your server version is correct. Would you send your database of NR server to support (at) neorouter (dot) com account?

Also you can you confirm, if you set "Firewall off" to the Default User, can you use those addons?

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:11 pm
Posts: 8
kevinz wrote:
Your server version is correct. Would you send your database of NR server to support (at) neorouter (dot) com account?


Doing so right now. Thanks.

Quote:
Also you can you confirm, if you set "Firewall off" to the Default User, can you use those addons?


Firewall off or on makes no difference. By default it was off. The addons have never worked through the web interface for us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTML5 Remote Access Client error message number -2138971903
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi whit,

If so, it's not the issue related to the ACL. Or if you change the ACL setting to firewall off for the Default User, it should work.

It would be helpful if you can send us a testing account so that we can verify it.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron