Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NeoRouter Connection - Network Cable Unplugged
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:06 am
Posts: 5
Hello,

First off we are successfully using Neorouter to establish a VPN connection all works really well until our internet connection drops ( don't you just love BT!) and then, without rebooting the server, we can't get neorouter to work.

When the internet drops, the NeoRouter Connection (in the network connections folder) just says "Network cable Unplugged".

I've tried disabling / enabling it, restarting the two neorouter services, but without a reboot I can't get it to come back up. Once I've done the reboot it all works 100% again ( it's just a pain have to kick everyone off the server).

Any other options I could try to get it to connect again ?

Windows Server 2003 SP 2 installed.

Thanks for reading


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Connection - Network Cable Unplugged
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:06 am
Posts: 5
Update: not sure if it is being caused by the internet dropping now ?! happened about 5 times today. I went to un-install and re-install, but add/remove programs said neorouter wasn't there to un-install!!!

Just ran an install of the software on the server over the top and so far, so good !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Connection - Network Cable Unplugged
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:06 am
Posts: 5
Well it lasted 36 hours, but the message about the cable being unplugged has just popped back up again .....

I presume that as the last 'news' update on this site was April 2014, this product is now dying ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Connection - Network Cable Unplugged
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:06 am
Posts: 5
whoa ! new website ! guess i was wrong about it dying then!

But this is still a problem we are having with Neorouter... it appears that it will now fall over if we lose network connection, either by router reset, or the ISP having a glitch, as soon as the connection drops neo get's the network cable unplugged message and doesn't recover once the connection is back ...

Any idea's ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Connection - Network Cable Unplugged
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi pwcircuitsltd,

Based on your description , it looks like your computer or network got overloaded, hence NR client lost connection to the server and shutdown.it will retry connection to the server and will recover when network is back.

NR client must keep a live connection to the server. It also send and receive heart-beat message to server. If it lost heart-beat more than 1min, it thinks connection would be broken and will disconnect. The connection icon shows unplugged when NR client lost connection to NR server as it lost virtual ip as well.

In your case , I guess bt or some other apps may use up too much network bandwidth and cause NR client lost heart beat. If you can send us the log file of NR client service, we can help to confirm it.

If it's the reason, please control your network traffic. You can do this in aether router or os.

Thanks,
KevinZ - neorouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter Connection - Network Cable Unplugged
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:06 am
Posts: 5
Hello KevinZ, thanks for the reply.

Had more time to study this now and it only loses connection if the broadband connection is reset. If fact this morning our internet speed was very slow, as a consequence our remote user was having trouble doing anything. I reset the broadband connection (which speeded up the connection) and on the server the 'network cable' unplugged messages pops up. Had to run the installation twice before the message disappeared and Neorouter starts to work again ( I reinstall the software rather than a server reboot as you don't have to kick everyone out).

I'll generate a log file and email it to you asap....

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: