Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 13
Sorry for the double post (how do I edit anyway?) but I should mention that "ifconfig tap0" returns an "interface does not exist" message, so it looks like Tuntap isn't installed correctly for some reason.

Ummm, that is what that means, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 13
Just an FYI - still no luck after the following.
Code:
Remove these folders:
/Library/Extensions/tap.kext
/Library/Extensions/tun.kext
/Library/StartupItems/tap
/Library/StartupItems/tun
/Library/StartupItems/nrservice
/Library/NeoRouter/

reboot

ls /dev/tu* = no results.
Ran TunTap_20090913.pkg installer.
ls /dev/tu* = 15 results (still no /dev/net/ folder).
ifconfig tun0 = "interface tun0 does not exist"
Checks of "sudo kextload /Library/Extensions/tun.kext" and tap.kext both returned "extension already loaded".
ran nrclient-9.9-9.1528-powerpc.mpkg
ran nrclientcmd
Still get Bus error


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi JonMikeIV,

Thanks for your report. It's a typo on our website, on Mac, it should be /dev/tapx in stead of /dev/net/tun, which is on Linux.

We will investigate your issue and get back later.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi JonMikeIV,

Does nrservice crashes too? try "ps -A | grep nrservice".

Can you try to "sudo rm -rf /usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems", then reboot, see if that fixes the problem?

If none of the above works, please try to capture a log file and send to support@neorouter.com. To enable logging, create /usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter/Log.ini with the following content:
Code:
    [Default]
    Mask=4294967295
    Type=1
    Path=/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/


Make sure nrclientcmd has the privilege to write to this path.

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 13
Luke,

Thanks for the suggestions.
ps -A | grep nrservice returns "213 p1 S+ 0:00.01 grep nrservice" (whatever that means).

After removing the ZebraNetworkSystems folder and rebooting I still get the Bus error.

I checked and didn't find a /usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/ folder so re-ran the install after which the folder existed.

I did a chmod ugo+w on the NeoRouter and ZebraNetworkSystems folders (just to be sure) and created the Log.ini file in the NeoRouter folder.

After running nrclientcmd again I still don't see anything (other than Log.ini) in either of the folders.

However, there is some stuff in /Users/<username>/Logs/CrashReporter/nrclientcmd.crash.log which I'll email as requested.

Thanks again!

Jon-Mikel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi JonMikelV,

Could you help send some more info?
1. the crash log you found under /Users/<username>/Logs/CrashReporter
2. Can you also launch System Profiler, and send me the Hardware and Software overview info?
3. run "ls -lR /usr/lib > libfileinfo.txt" and send me the result.

I will try to re-config my G4 just like yours and see if I can repro the problem.

Thanks much!

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Working with Jon-Mikel, we found that there was a copy of old (v0.9.8) nrclientcmd on the Desktop.

Jon-Mikel, please completely remove all old binaries, and install a fresh copy of the 0.9.9 nrclient.
Code:
    sudo /Library/NeoRouter/rmnrclient.sh userdata
    rm ~/Desktop/nrclientcmd


Let us know if you still have problems.

Thanks,

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 13
Did as requested - machine was clean.

After re-getting and re-running 0.9.9 install machine was STILL clean, so it looks like the installer isn't actually installing anything which is why my old 0.9.8 was still trying to run.

Note - I re-ran a 0.9.8 install and files showed up so it's leaning towards an odd 0.9.9 INSTALLER issue rather than an actual version issue.

Jon-Mikel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi Jon-Mikel,

This is a really tough issue. :)
I can not reproduce the issue in our lab. So I can only guess what the cause might be. Please bare with me here.
Tiger and Leopard keeps a copy of installed package under /Library/Receipts. I suspect it is causing the trouble. Please try the following steps:
Code:
    1. sudo /Library/NeoRouter/rmnrclient.sh
    2. sudo /Library/NeoRouter/rmnrserver.sh if you had installed nrserver
    3. cd /Library/Receipts, then sudo rm -rf NeoRouter*
    4. Reboot
    5. Install nrclient 0.9.9
    6. Verify /Library/NeoRouter/ has three files: nrclientcmd, nrservice, rmnrclient.sh
        Verify /Library/LaunchDaemons/ has one file: nrservice.plist
        In 0.9.9 we no longer use /Library/StartupItems/nrservice. It should not exist.
    7. Verify nrservice is running (ps -A | grep nrservice)
    8. Run /Library/NeoRouter/nrclientcmd directly from command line


I hope this can fix the issue. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Thanks,

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error running NeoRouter on Mac OS 10.4 PowerPC
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
I was able to reproduce this issue today. It happens when user upgrades from 0.9.8 to 0.9.9 on Tiger. It does not affect Leopard or Snow Leopard.

Use the steps in my last post solves the problem.

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron