Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 24
OK, I installed the Tomato with Neorouter on a WRT54GS V4. I can login and administer Neorouter and I can log computers onto Neorouter but I cannot ping or transfer files between computers. I forwarded port 32976 both UDP and TCP on the DSL modem firewall. The Modem is a Netopia 2241N.

(edit) this was working when I had the Neorouter server on an XP machine but has not worked since I changed to "Router in a box".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 24
I guess since nobody can help with this I will have to find another solution for now. I will check back in the future and see if there is a new version that will work for me.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
hi carbon_unit,

Sorry about the delayed response.
When you switch client computers to the router based server, can you use "ipconfig" to get its ip address? If it's not a valid "8.0.0.*" address, you may need to restart the client computer. Let me know if this solves the problem for you.

We made a fix in our next release to allow user switching domains without needing a reboot. It's coming soon...

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 24
That's OK Luke. I realize you are busy but I need to get something working too.
I tried rebooting the clients and the router. I also went into the configuration explorer and deleted the clients and logged back in to recreate them. It still did not work. I can login but that is all I can do.
How soon will the new version be ready?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Do you have a valid 8.0.0.* IP address?

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 24
Yes. One client was 8.0.0.1 and the other was 8.0.0.2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1868
Hi carbon_unit,

Would you try this?

1. Change the Client-to-client connection mode to Replay Mode.
Go to Configuration Explorer -> Connections -> Relay through server.
Then click on "Apply" to restart your client service.

2. Double check your Windows firewall see if it turns off the icmp echo. You can simple turn off the firewall temporarily. Or try to ping these computers without using NeoRouter see if it works.

BTW, we will release a new version very very soon.

Let us know if it still does not work.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect but no ping
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 24
Well, After uninstalling Neorouter,rebooting, reinstalling,rebooting, uninstalling again, rebooting again and reinstalling it is now working on both clients. I'm not going to bother it as long as it is working.
Thanks for the suggestions guys. I'm not sure what actually fixed it.
I never rebooted the router, only the clients. Now I have to get that company file backed up. It has been a week.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron