Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 9
I am now starting to pull out my hair. Ubuntu will allow me to set an alternative ip address, but once I do network-manager will no longer connect. I have tried an alternative network manager (wicd) and have also tried connecting directly using the command line, but nothing works. Are there any alternative solutions to this problem apart from changing the mac address?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 9
Some further frantic goggling leads me to to conclusion that to date no one has been able to get a broadcom wifi card to work after changing the mac address. Is there any other way of getting neorouter to recognize the machines as different without changing the mac address? HELP! :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
hi finglish,

Can you post the result of ifconfig?

Thanks,
Luke

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 9
here is my ifconfig:


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr d8:d3:85:0e:bd:b4
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:27 Base address:0x8000

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr c4:17:fe:10:76:72
inet addr:10.0.0.3 Bcast:10.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::c617:feff:fe10:7672/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1993 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:10
TX packets:2068 errors:35 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1647967 (1.6 MB) TX bytes:344160 (344.1 KB)
Interrupt:17

eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr d8:d3:85:0e:bd:b4
inet addr:169.254.9.128 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:27 Base address:0x8000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

nrtap Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr a6:d1:33:35:b5:46
inet addr:45.0.0.5 Bcast:45.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::a4d1:33ff:fe35:b546/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1300 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:4590 (4.5 KB)


And for good mesure, here is the content of my Client.xml

<Client Version="1.0">
<GlobalSettings>
<InstanceType VALUE="258" />
<Registered VALUE="TRUE" />
<ServerIP VALUE="icb.fi" />
<ServerPort VALUE="32976" />
<VirtualIP VALUE="45.0.0.5" />
<Netmask VALUE="255.255.255.0" />
<HardwareID VALUE="D8:D3:85:0E:BD:B4" />
<ComputerID VALUE="{1CA8AE7E-80A5-BB4C-BBC2-848425399BE3}" />
<UserName VALUE="" />
<Password VALUE="" />
<ComputerName VALUE="liam-laptop" />
<Domain VALUE="icb.fi" />
</GlobalSettings>
</Client>


This is without changing the mac addres, as I am unable to get online when I do :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
hi finglish,

I assume eth0 is the broadcom wifi card and eth1 is a normal network card. Can you try to rename the broadcom card to "eth2"? NeoRouter will then pick eth1's MAC address as the identifier.
Let me know whether this solves the issue.

Thanks,
Luke

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 9
Great! That fixed it.

Because the machines also have matching network cards I did have to change the network card address, but unlike the broadcom wireless card this did not stop it working.

Such a simple solution, and I completely missed it :?

Thanks once again


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi finglish,

As you mentioned, your Wifi cards having the same MAC address, right? But eth1 have the unique MAC.
On Ubuntu, you can modify the file /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules to switch the eth0 and eth1. And also delete the Client.xml. Then give it a reboot.

See if it works.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron