Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:47 am
Posts: 4
I'm setting up several machines with different user accounts but 2 of them have the same IP address. I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 server with the pro version. I can't find out how to change IP addresses. I have uninstalled nrclient and removed the /usr/local/ZebraNetworks/NeoRouter folder before reinstalling. Every time it gives me the same IP address which is a direct conflict with another machine.

Any clues as to where I can start? So far every other machine is working perfectly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi robwmc,

Can you give the results of "ifconfig"?

VIP is bound to MAC address of the primary network adapter on your computer. Same MAC address will be traded as the same computer.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:47 am
Posts: 4
Here is the ifconfig for one of them.

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:27:0e:10:fb:93
inet addr:192.168.1.153 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::227:eff:fe10:fb93/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:11319 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3766 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1827265 (1.8 MB) TX bytes:1540952 (1.5 MB)
Interrupt:28 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:114 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:114 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:9649 (9.6 KB) TX bytes:9649 (9.6 KB)

nrtap Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 7e:77:7a:68:3c:24
inet addr:10.0.0.10 Bcast:10.255.255.255 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: fe80::7c77:7aff:fe68:3c24/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1300 Metric:1
RX packets:1063 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:57 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
RX bytes:191063 (191.0 KB) TX bytes:39917 (39.9 KB)

Here is the ifconfig of the other one.

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:27:0e:10:fb:54
inet addr:192.168.1.176 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::227:eff:fe10:fb54/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:20645 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3729 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2518477 (2.5 MB) TX bytes:373662 (373.6 KB)
Interrupt:28 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:6823 (6.8 KB) TX bytes:6823 (6.8 KB)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Sounds weird. Would you help collect the log files for the nrservice?

To enable logging, please refer to http://www.neorouter.com/wiki/index.php ... og_file.3F

Please send the log files to our support (at) neorouter.com, so that we can help you to figure out.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi robwmc,

Thanks for your log files. From the files you sent, I can see the hardware ID of both computers are 00:00:00:00:00:00, this causes the duplicate VIP.

I also noticed that you are using NR Pro v.1.0.0, which has a bug that cannot recognize the device eth1. Can you upgrade to the latest version NR Pro v1.2.0, it has fixed the bug and should work for you.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:47 am
Posts: 4
Thanks KevinZ. Works like a charm now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 9
I have a very similar issue involving three machines (on ubuntu 10.04).

The machines all have matching hardware (same model), so I am guessing that is why when I check Client.xml file I can see that the ComputerID and the HardwareID on all machines are the same on all three i.e.:

<HardwareID VALUE="D8:D3:85:0E:BD:B4" />
<ComputerID VALUE="{1CA8AE7E-80A5-BB4C-BBC2-848425399BE3}"

Is the matching MAC addresses causing my problem? Will changing the MAC address stop them all registering as the same machine and attempting to use the same IP?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
hi finglish,

Please change the MAC address and it should fix the issue for you.

Thanks,
Luke

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 9
Great thank,

So it doesn't matter that the the computerID is also the same then? Will changing the MAC also force this to change as well then?

Many thanks, and congrats to neorouter for such a great product :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Machines with Same IP
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
hi finglish,

Please change MAC address of your network adapter and delete Client.xml. Then restart nrservice daemon (/etc/init.d/nrservice.sh stop, start). When the client reconnects to server, server will recognize it as a new computer, generate a new ComputerId. A new Client.xml will be created at the same path.

Thanks,

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: