Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Greetings,
first of all, i want to thank you for this great piece of software.
Neorouter is something i have been looking for a long time, and it is pretty easy to use ... well, without the issues i'm having right now :)

The short form of the problem is: There is no NRTAP device after installing the client on a ubuntu 10.4 vserver 64bit.

This is my network as it is:

I'm having that mentioned vserver, which i'm using as the neorouter server.
This works flawless. I've connected several Windows (32 and 64bit) clients, an 32bit ubuntu server in VirtualBox(which was supposed to reproduce the error, but it did not) and an android device to it.

(little problem here: I've registered an DomainName in the dashboard, but if i enter it in the "connect to" box it does not work. i have to insert my ip there. This is without using a proxy. Is this feature disabled for free users?)

All my machines are able to ping each other.

Now i tried to install the client on the server which is hosting the NRServer.

Using the same worksteps as with that 32bit ubutnu server in my local VirtualBox installation there is no nrtap adapter appearing.
But i'm able to connect to the server, add computers to my list etc etc.

Everything seems to be normal, exept the missing network device with an ip adress. I'm unable to ping that server-client from my other clients, ofcourse, but it appears in the list of add-able servers.

My plan was to use the VPN Network to tunnel my http traffic out of unsave networks, using a proxysoftware at the server-end of my vpn as gateway.

Is this a known issue? There do not appear any errors.
I hope for your help.

best regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi Yasu,

Can you double-check if the device /dev/net/tun is valid? Is your vserver a VPS or real server? I know some VPS providers may not allow users use the tun device.

Please collect a log file of the nrservice, then we can figure out the issue.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Hi,
thank you for your Replay.
It is a VPS server.

There is no /net in /dev.
I will call my hosting provider today, thanks so far.

greetings,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 96
you might just try
$ sudo modprobe tun

and check if tun module is loaded
$ lsmod | grep tun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Hi,
thank you for your answer.

I did not manage to call them the other day.

sudo modprobe tun
tells me that the module tun wasn't found.

(sudo) lsmod and modprobe -l
give me an empty list.

So this is restricted by the hosting company right?

Is there any other way to load the tun module?

greetings,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 96
I guess the hosting company does not really care about whether you use tun or not.

Looks like this is ubuntu 10.04 issue, I found it rather strange that ubuntu 10.04's kernel does not enable tun module:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1459559

You can try to build the module, just get ubuntu's kernel source code (same version as the kernel your are running) and enable tun.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Hi,
this Thread says, that neorouter is not compatible to my OS.
But the problem seems to be my access to the kernelmodules in general.

I've asked some linux-guys arround here, which were not able to solve the issue of not beeing able to access the kernelmodulelist.

Therefore i think kevinz is right with saying that there is some access-restriction hostingside working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 5
Hello,
the case has been checked by the hosting company, the access to the kernel is denied due to the used virtualising technology.

Is it possible to use neorouter without that tun module?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with dual-installation of Server and Client on Linux
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
The tun device is required for NR client on Linux. As I know, most virtuozzo/openvz based VPS providers do not allow users to use the device, but there are a few does when you ask their tech support to help you setup. Most Xen based VPS give you the full access to the tun device. Anyway, it would be better to confirm with the providers. Googling about this you will get more information about running software VPN on a VPS.

On a Windows based VPS no matter what virtualization technology they use, NR client always works well.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron