Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box [TEMP SOLVED]
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
I don't see much on the forums or on google regarding NeoRouter Free on FreeBSD. I managed to get the server running after recompiling the kernel without IPv6 enabled or the server would bind to the non-configured/activated IPv6 address and wouldn't respond to any requests. After recompiling withough IPv6 in the kernel all is well however on to part two.

Nrservice will not start. Running
Code:
/usr/local/etc/rc.d/nrservice.sh start

says started but the service never starts and nothing gets logged anywhere.

Running nrservice directly gets you the error:

Code:
NeoRouter Free [Version 1.5.1.2820]
Copyright (C) 2011 NeoRouter Inc.

nrservice failed to start due to error -2139029502.


I have tried utilizing both Features.ini and Log.ini to force options, start logging etc however on FreeBSD it appears that all NeoRouter applications on FreeBSD ignore both of those files. I'm at a loss and don't know what more to do. As I've said, there isn't much on this site regarding FreeBSD nor on google specifically about NeoRouter ignoring the presence of Features.ini and Log.ini. I have copied them all over the box in hopes that one of the places will be right but none have been so far. I have copies in:

Code:
/usr/local/etc/
/usr/local/ZebraNetworks/NeoRouter
/etc


Please advise.

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by PSY0NIC on Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi PSY0NIC,

Error code -2139029502 (0x80810002) means nrservice cannot load local settings, especially the MAC address of local network adapter.

Can you put results of "ifconfig" here? nrservice requires a MAC address to identify your computer.

Btw, the main configuration folder is /usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter on FreeBSD, you can simply put the code in a Log.ini file and restart the service to collect log file.

Code:
[Default]
Mask=536870911
Type=1


The log file will be in the folder as well.

It would be helpful if you can collect log file of nrservice.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
I have put both Features.ini and Log.ini in that folder and it ignores it. No log is ever generated. Here are the contents of both.

Features.ini
Code:
[Default]
UdpOnly=0
P2P=0
HostIPType=1
HardwareId=MY MAC HERE
NicInterfaceName=msk
ProtocolVersion=1


Log.ini
Code:
[Default]
Mask=536870911
Type=1
Path=/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter/log.txt

[nrservice]
Mask=4294967295
Type=1
Path=/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter/nrservice.log
MaxNumOfLines=20000

[nrclientcmd]
Mask=4294967295
Type=1
Path=/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter/nrclientcmd.log
MaxNumOfLines=20000


I only get that error code when I execute from /usr/local/bin/nrservice. Using /usr/local/etc/rc.d/nrservice.sh start always results in "SUCCESS" message but the service never starts.

I'd really like to get the logging for you but I can't if the programs are ignoring Log.ini


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi PSY0NIC,

Are you sure you put config file in /usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter folder, instead /usr/local/ZebraNetworks/NeoRouter (You mentioned).

Also please double check the the file/folder permission and nrservice permission.

I just tried it out on my FreeBSD 8 x64 box without any problem.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
Code:
# pwd
/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter
# ls
Feature.ini             nrclient.README         server.crt
Log.ini                 nrserver.README         server.key
NeoRouter_0_0_1.db      openssl.cnf


Code:
/usr/local/etc/rc.d
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel   952 Jul 25 05:13 nrserver.sh
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel   779 Jul 26 02:53 nrservice.sh


Code:
/usr/local/bin
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel   894096 Jul 26 01:14 nrclientcmd
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  2817768 Jul 25 03:43 nrserver
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  2831016 Jul 26 01:14 nrservice


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
Also, I'm running 8.2-STABLE if that matters (needed an upstream patch for my network card)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
in Log.ini, path should be a directory, not including file name. the program will generate file names.

Path=/usr/local/ZebraNetworkSystems/NeoRouter/log.txt

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
Ok. I will try tonight as I don't have the client working on the server yet to get into it from remote. Thanks for your time. Hope we can resolve this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Sounds good.
Also most of the stuff you have in Features.ini are not necessary. I think you only need HostIPType to disable IPv6 and NicInterfaceName to help nrservice locate NIC.

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FreeBSD Client and Server on same box
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
Yea, I tried all variations even one option at a time in case i was over configuring. However I had to recompile the kernel without IPv6 in it to get the server portion working but that's another :D matter as it does work after doing that.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron