Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Client & Server on Ubuntu
PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:44 pm
Posts: 4
I have a machine running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. It has the server and client installed (connecting to itself).

All the other clients can connect to each other from anywhere, but the server can only connect to clients on the local network. Whenever I ping a client from the server (even one on the local network) using the virtual network IP, it says it is unreachable.

I have looked for someone with a similar problem all over google and the forums and found nothing. I would appreciate any kind of solution or idea to try next.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Client & Server on Ubuntu
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:06 am
Posts: 22
Works fine here on a Raspberry.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Client & Server on Ubuntu
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi diobrendo,

Please check if the nrtap network interface is up on your server.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Client & Server on Ubuntu
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 12:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:44 pm
Posts: 4
I believe the nrtap interface is working.

Code:
ifconfig

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 50:e5:49:20:e2:39
          inet addr:10.0.0.100  Bcast:10.255.255.255  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:22313 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:27305 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:5545476 (5.5 MB)  TX bytes:5839968 (5.8 MB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:7045 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7045 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2961333 (2.9 MB)  TX bytes:2961333 (2.9 MB)

nrtap     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 72:a2:0b:f2:96:24
          inet addr:10.0.1.4  Bcast:10.255.255.255  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1300  Metric:1
          RX packets:1151 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:78 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
          RX bytes:145214 (145.2 KB)  TX bytes:12357 (12.3 KB)



Trying to troubleshoot, I ran into this, which seems like it could be a problem. Does it matter that I have two identical destinations, using different interfaces? I am not all that experienced with linux, if someone could confirm that this is indeed an issue before I try to change it, that would be great.

Code:
route -n

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         10.0.0.1        0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 eth0
10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 eth0
10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 nrtap



Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Client & Server on Ubuntu
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:06 am
Posts: 22
This is my route :

Code:
root@raspberrypi:~# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.16.1    0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
192.168.16.0    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
192.168.200.0   0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 nrtap


Looks like an netmask problem. Or you're neorouter IP's should not start with 10


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Client & Server on Ubuntu
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:44 pm
Posts: 4
It was indeed a netmask problem.

Going into my router and changing the subnet mask from 255.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.0, then restarting solved the problem.

Thanks for your help, I've been trying to fix this off and on for a while now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: