Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: VNC over port 80?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:41 am
Posts: 2
On my work machine I can't install software per corporate policy. Port 80 and 443 are open and I need to use those ports to not get the attention of the network admins. The work PC does have UltraVNC installed, and I can use a USB memory stick. I haven't tried NeoRouter yet - will I be able to:

Connect to my home networked PC's using VNC over port 80, using http tunneling? I'm not sure if the work routers have filtering and reject non http traffic, but anyway, if I do use http then my chances of attracting attention are much reduced.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VNC over port 80?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi kallsop,

Thanks for your interest in NeoRouter.

Yes. You can and you can use any port. If you have concern about 80, you can 443 port instead.

NeoRouter server allows users to change the listening port. Since it uses the standard SSL protocol between NeoRouter server and client, the traffic has no difference from https.

You can run NeoRouter Network Explorer Portal from your USB key or from our website directly without any installation. After it started, you can install our UVNC add-on or create your own add-on using existing VNC software. You can also export the add-on file from the add-ons manager for later use, as the portable version will clean up everything once you quit from it.

Let us know if you have any problem.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VNC over port 80?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:41 am
Posts: 2
Awesome, I'll try it tomorrow at work. For now I'll install the PC version but I also have a WRT54G-TM running Tomato and eventually will try it running on the router.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VNC over port 80?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:25 am
Posts: 1
On my work machine I can't install software per corporate policy. Port 80 and 443 are open and I need to use those ports to not get the attention of the network admins. The work PC does have UltraVNC installed, and I can use a USB memory stick. I haven't tried NeoRouter yet - will I be able to:

Connect to my home networked PC's using VNC over port 80, using http tunneling? I'm not sure if the work routers have filtering and reject non http traffic, but anyway, if I do use http then my chances of attracting attention are much reduced.

Thanks for sharing this topic.

_________________
== Solitaire ==


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VNC over port 80?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:36 am
Posts: 1
You can run NeoRouter Network Explorer Portal from your USB key or from our website directly without any installation. After it started, you can install our UVNC add-on or create your own add-on using existing VNC software. You can also export the add-on file from the add-ons manager for later use, as the portable version will clean up everything once you quit from it.

_________________
chess


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron