Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 96
I am sure sooner or later people will see the "media hairpin feature" issue so I hope you can add a feature that client can use multiple IP(address):port pairs for the same server, sort of like

address1:port1;IP2:port2

for example, I have a domain name "neorouter.mydomain.com" as external/public IP, and I port forward 443 to an internal/private 192.168.100.1:32976 neorouter server, now if I put

neorouter.mydomain.com:443;192.168.100.1:32976

in the "log on to" box, the neorouter client should be smart enough to alternately try
neorouter.mydomain.com:443
192.168.100.1:32976
and log on the first one that works, thus avoid the "media hairpin feature" issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi ElTopo,

Thanks for the suggestion!
We did not expect this to be a wide-spread issue. But we could be completely wrong here. From my experience, most home router brands, like Linksys or netgear, support hairpin. Although Cisco routers and the like do not support hairpin by default, they usually allow user to setup aliases.
May I ask the brand and model of your router that has the hairpin issue? Is it possible to workaround the issue by configuring the router?

Thanks,

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 96
Hi luke:

Currently I am using Comcast's modem+router combo, named "Comcast Business Gateway", the device is some model from SMC Networks with Comcast brand. Frankly I hate it but I have no choice for Comcast's static IP plan. It does not support loopback port forwarding.

I had used serveral routers before, most of them don't support loopback port forwarding:
netgear wnr8348 (does support)
netgear rp614 (does not)
belkin f5d6231 (does not)
linksys befw11s4 (does not)

My company is using a Cisco VPN router, but the admin decided not to enable loopback port forwarding.

So as you can see, it could be a common issue for cheap routers. There is a workaround: edit OS hosts file and force the domain name to be resolved to a local network IP, but for portable devices this is not very convenient because the user has to switch back and forth constantly.

ElTopo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi ElTopo,

Thank you for the information and the suggested solution. We will evaluate it.

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:54 am
Posts: 10
Please do! For all of those that have Qwest and use their Q1000 modem/routers, these folk are affected.

Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 96
Thanks Chuck.

I also think this feature is helpful for multiple domain names, for example, I normally have 2 dynamic domain name services registered:
myname1.no-ip.org
myname2.dyndns.org

and I can use
myname1.no-ip.org:443;myname2.dyndns.org:443

as my neorouter server's address. In case no-ip.org service is down (which is not very likely but you never know), neorouter clients will be able to switch to dyndns.org automatically.

ElTopo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 7:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:19 pm
Posts: 436
Hi ElTopo and Chuck,

We have implemented this feature in NR Free 1.1.1.
In NeoRouter Network Explorer, you can choose menu File | Connection..., click on the "Server Local Address" tab, then enter the local address of your nrserver.
When you log in NeoRouter from the same LAN as server, this alternative server address will be used. When you connect from other places, server's public address will be used.
Please give it a try and let us know what you think.

Thanks,

_________________
Luke - NeoRouter Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: multiple IP:port pairs for one server
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 96
luke,

I tried and it works well.

Thanks, you guys are great!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron