Community


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NeoRouter in a box
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 1:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:36 am
Posts: 40
Do I have to re-flash my router to update NeoRouter?

I have Tomato on Linksys WRT54G

Thanks. John.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter in a box
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi John,

Yes, you have to reflash the NR's firmware when upgrading. Because Tomato does not allow you to upgrade firmware if the "jffs" gets turned on, but NeoRouter uses it to store some important information.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter in a box
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:36 am
Posts: 40
I'm happy with my Linksys, but I bought an ASUS WL-500gP V2 to try it out.

Does the ASUS router let me update or will I have to flash that one as well?

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NeoRouter in a box
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 1869
Hi OregonJohn,

I'm afraid you have to do this anyway. It is not the router, but the Tomato requires.

WL-500gp is much better and it has enough space allowing you to install both NeoRouter server and client if you like OpenWrt Kamikaze. If you use OpenWrt, no need to flash the firmware when upgrade NeoRouter. It's just like on a Linux box, simply update the NeoRouter package.

Thanks,
KevinZ - NeoRouter team


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron